Art and History: Art Workshop and Young at Art celebrates the IC Sesquicentennial

This fall, Art Workshop students will have a special part in Immaculate Conception Church’s celebration of 150 years. The parish was first named St. Mary Major and later called Immaculate Conception BVM. St. John Neumann granted permission to buy the land and create the parish in 1857, but died in January, 1860 before the church was completed. Fire destroyed the  church in February of 1928, leading to the construction of the present church which is on West Avenue in Jenkintown. The statue of Mary in the alcove above the front church doors is from the original church structure.

This status of Mary is from the original church, burned down in a fire in February, 1928.
This status of Mary is from the original church, burned down in a fire in February, 1928.
Past AW student have spent time drawing in our beautiful church (Grace M., 2011)
Past AW student have spent time drawing in our beautiful church (Grace M., 2011)

The unique beauty of the stained glass windows, architecture, statues, and tile floors make compositional choices difficult for any artist. After a initial drawing session in the church, Art Workshop and Young at Art artists will be creating artwork remembering the old and celebrating the present. During the eight week semester, they will be using a variety of mediums to render their work.

Our Fall show, scheduled for Sunday evening, November 15th will have extended hours so that our parishioners can enjoy the work of the artists and celebrate this great year.

Advertisements